View map

Dr. John McMahan, MD, FACS

Surgeon, Ear, Nose & Throat Doctor, Head & Neck Surgeon

Chicago, IL

About Dr. John McMahan

John T. McMahan, MD FACS is Chicago’s leading expert in disorders of the nose,sinus, allergies, sleep disorders, hearing loss and nasal reconstructive surgery. After over 25 years in business and more than 60 years of combined experience, Dr. John McMahan along with audiologist Karin Zylka are the specialist at McMahan-Clemis Institute of Otolaryngology who have the expertise to treat even the most complex diseases and disorders. The providers at McMahan-Clemis Institute of Otolaryngology are passionate about lifelong learning, which ensures they bring to you the most innovative, state-of-the-art diagnosis and treatment available for your condition. This expertise and innovation have made McMahan-Clemis Institute of Otolaryngology the clinic of choice for patients suffering from chronic conditions that are resistant to conventional treatments. The compassionate team at McMahan-Clemis Institute of Otolaryngology ensures you understand your diagnosis and treatment plan and can get all of your questions answered before you leave the clinic. To find out how the doctors at McMahan-Clemis Institute of Otolaryngology can help with even your most complex conditions, schedule a no-obligation consultation appointment today. SAME DAY APPOINTMENTS AVAILABLE. (Please note audiologist is only on-site Tuesday's, Wednesday's and Thursdays, for urgent same day appointments such as ear pain, ear wax we can accommodate same day appointments for Monday and Friday, but for any ear related issues it is best to schedule Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday). We will review your insurance benefits and discuss any out of pocket expenses prior to your appointment. Any copay's or unmet deductibles will be collected at the time of service.

In-network insurances

  • AARP
  • Aetna
  • American Republic Insurance Company

Specialties

  • Ear, Nose & Throat Doctor
  • Surgeon
  • Head & Neck Surgeon

Practice names

Hospital affiliations

  • Northwestern Memorial Hospital

Board certifications

  • American Board of Otolaryngology

Education and training

  • Medical School - Medical University of South Carolina, Doctor of Medicine
  • Northwestern University, Residency in Otolaryngology and Head and Neck Surgery
  • Northwestern University, Fellowship in Head and Neck Oncology
  • Northwestern University, Residency in Surgery

Professional memberships

  • American Academy of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
  • American College of Surgeons

Zocdoc awards

See you again
Speedy response

Languages spoken

  • English
  • Spanish

Provider's gender

Male

NPI number

1518910272

Overall rating
4.4
Recent reviews
Great doctor - I had a sinus infection which was actually not the cause of my pain and he not onlytreated that with medication that would actually work but also has engaged numerous other doctors to help me solve the root cause issue of my pain even though it is not sinus related - office location seems strange at first as it is at the end of an apartment/office building hall that is apartments but once you enter the office it has great vibes, the receptionists and those who drew my blood were compassionate and knowledgeable, go here!!
Great doctor - I had a sinus infection which was actually not the cause of my pain and he not only treated that with medication that would actually work but alsohas engaged numerous other doctors to help me solve the root cause issue of my pain even though it is not sinus related - office location seems strange at first as it is at the end of an apartment/office building hall that is apartments but once you enter the office it has great vibes, the receptionists and those who drew my blood were compassionate and knowledgeable, go here!!
Amanda D. · July 11, 2019
I had an excellent experience here. I saw a lot of reviews complained about unexpected charges. They clearly explained tome everything they could potentially charge me for for the various procedures, so I was not caught off guard by anything. Saw me right away, and he listened very closely to my symptoms and my story. He asked a lot of questions and gave me great insight. Also gave me an excellent referral for an internist.
I had an excellent experience here. I saw a lot of reviews complained about unexpected charges. They clearly explained to me everything they could potentially charge me for for thevarious procedures, so I was not caught off guard by anything. Saw me right away, and he listened very closely to my symptoms and my story. He asked a lot of questions and gave me great insight. Also gave me an excellent referral for an internist.
Margaret M. · July 8, 2019

Dr. John McMahan's office locations

McMahan-Clemis Institute of Otolaryngology, PC

151 N. Michigan Avenue, Ste 913

Chicago, IL 60601

McMahan-Clemis Institute of Otolaryngology, PC

4646 N Marine Drive

Chicago, IL 60640

Patient reviews for Dr. John McMahan

All reviews have been submitted by patients after seeing the provider. For more information about Zocdoc's review system, check out this FAQ.
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Based on 314 reviews
Sort by:
Most relevant
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Great doctor - I had a sinus infection which was actually not the cause of my pain and he not only treated that with medication that would actually work but also has engaged numerous other doctors to help me solve the root cause issue of my pain even though it is not sinus related - office location seems strange at first as it is at the end of an apartment/office building hall that is apartments but once you enter the office it has great vibes, the receptionists and those who drew my blood were compassionate and knowledgeable, go here!!

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

I had an excellent experience here. I saw a lot of reviews complained about unexpected charges. They clearly explained to me everything they could potentially charge me for for the various procedures, so I was not caught off guard by anything. Saw me right away, and he listened very closely to my symptoms and my story. He asked a lot of questions and gave me great insight. Also gave me an excellent referral for an internist.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

It was wonderful! I've been getting an illness for a few years and doctors never know what it is. I'm miserable and I can't eat, drink or swallow. John McMahan looked at me and knew what it was within minutes! Fantastic! So so so happy! Would definitely recommend. Everyone at the office was super awesome! Mary, his assistant, was super sweet too!

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

He may be the best doctor I've ever had, period, and certainly one of the best ENTs in America. Very kind and thorough. Good baking skills, too.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Dr. McMahan did an excellent. He was able to diagnose what 2 Urgent Cares couldn’t and prescribed treatment.

Less than 6 months ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

I travel frequently and have ongoing ear issues so I've seen five ear nose and throat doctors in 4 cities the past 3 months and this is the only one that charges me for every single thing he touches. The term is "bill stuffing" and it sucks. The cost of him telling me something that somebody several days before had already told me was more than the cost of a flight back to the original doctor. When I complained about their billing practices, they asked if I had insurance.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Staff was somewhat helpful. Dr John McMahan was not very good at explaining on what’s actually happening just kept me coming back every two weeks.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

He is AMAZING!

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Went in for an ear cleaning. Quick visit and straight to the point!

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

The visit was fine...saw me for 5 minutes and referred me to a specialist. Referred me to another doctor and since than I have heard nothing back from the office. 0 follow up and I have called multiple times trying to get them to call the specialist again. Also had issues with them calling the pharmacy in a timely manner. Would not recommend this doctor due to a lack of follow up and care.

Less than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

He called me in right on time and solved my problem in five minutes! It may not have been much to him, but it meant the world to me! I can hear again!

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Super friendly staff, everyone made me feel very comfortable even though I'm typically uneasy at doctors offices. Everything was done very quickly and the doctor explained everything to me very well. Highly recommend.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

He referred me to a different doctor. I'm a singer, and based on what I told him he thought his referral was better suited for me. I didn't like the guy he referred me to, so I wonder what dr. John would have done for me.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Very knowledgable, easy to talk to, very kind and informative

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Dr. McMahan was really great! He was listened to my symptoms and offered a bunch of options that could help ease them. Even though I hope these steps and medication will be a cure for me I wouldn't mind seeing Dr. McMahan again if need be.

Less than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Doctor McMahan came off cold and did not seem interested in listening to my concerns or addressing my questions. I would not see this doctor again.

Less than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Very knowledgeable but rescheduled the morning of our appointment.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

He had me schedule an MRI at the hospital, then he never called with the results or a gameplan to move forward. I called multiple times to get the results and the office never called back. I still have never heard from any doctors regarding the MRI that I got over a month ago. As soon as my appointment was over, I was completely ignored.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Very friendly, listened to symptoms, and proceed the diagnosis. He explained clearly every little procedure and went over the results. Nice staff. Recommend!

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Dr. McMahan is great. The office runs smoothly while your there, and everyone on staff is both knowledgeable and friendly. My only complaint is that once you leave the office, communication takes a steep drop. Make sure you have your prescriptions sorted out before you leave, because everyone's great in person, but it's incredibly difficult to get things sorted out over phone or the portal.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Condescending, frustrating, just an incredible waste of time. He was insensitive, made me feel stupid, and did not help me with my tonsil issue. Find another ENT in Chicago.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Dr. McMahan was very thorough and thoughtful. He took interest and answered all my questions. On top of that the staff was very friendly and provided top notch customer service.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Just an overall waste of time.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Dr. John McMahan and his entire staff was very helpful and personable. Since I am not from Chicago, Dr. John even tried to reach out to my personal physician in Atlanta to discuss next steps. Definitely one of the best doctors I’ve come across in US. I would highly recommend him.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Good.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

They just kept telling me that the doctor would see you shortly :( My appointment is at 12:00. They told me the doctor would be with me shortly. It was more than 30 min. Then, the doctor did a test for 2 minutes and told me that I needed a ear test. Then she told me that another doctor would be with me shortly. It was more than half hour. Their time management is so awful!!!!!!!

Less than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Dr. McMahan is cure-oriented rather than simply treating issues at surface level. He's kind, friendly, and clearly very knowledgeable... As is the rest of the staff. I was there in the morning and it felt like a very efficient and well-managed office.

More than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

The visit went well, I got a very professional consultation and a hearing test. The only thing that did not go well was that they messed up my insurance, so I had to contact my insurance myself (turns out I was right) and now I have to try and convince the in the doctor's office that I don't owe them as much as they claim.

More than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Everything was perfectly.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Dr. McMahan did a thorough examination in a timely manner. Walking away from my appointment, I feel like I’ve been accurately evaluated and received the best care that I could.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

He was very comprehensive and explained everything well.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Great doctor, very helpful and knowledgeable.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

He is the best. He got right to the source. I appreciate his ways his actions. He is a little ruff. But he get to source and he could ruff me up anytime. As long ad i grt well. Thank you doctor by far you are the best. My Angel.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

The best.....

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Fast and thorough. No wait, friendly and helpful stuff, clean office with modern equipment, and overall great experience.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

The doctor talked me through my symptoms and treatment plan in a friendly and professional manner:)

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Dr McMahan is great! He listened to all my ailments and finally diagnosed me with something I’ve been suffering from for 2 years, that other doctors have been ignoring.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Just had my initial consultation with Dr. McMahan. I wish this office would utilize the online info and medical history stored on ZocDoc. I waited 30 min to be seen, which was annoying because I specifically scheduled this to be during my lunch break. However, once I was seen, Dr. McMahan was thorough in his explanation of next steps, and was not quick to diagnose or treat. The tests he ordered were done in-house, and it was easy to make a follow-up appointment. I look forward to my next visit!

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

His office quickly confirmed the appointment. Very good experience overall. Highly recommended!

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

great doctor for sinus issues, as there is a CT scan and phlebotomist in office. seems like the doctor knew exactly what to do and was quick in assessing a course of action. i am extremely relieved to have finally have been given a diagnoses after years of going to primary care doctors with no success. the front desk makes mistakes but the doctor is worth it.

More than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

The Doc was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. Enjoyed my visit to his office and appreciated learning more about how to avoid my condition in the future. Will be back soon!

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Great variety of ENT experts to put you in contact with.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Excellent. Took time to explain symptoms and options for cure.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

very thorough and it is without a doubt following the conservative approach instead of surgical procedures first and seeing that wasn't the fix. makes sure you really understand the problem and involves you in the decision very practical and caring man

More than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

I like him a lot, but he is eccentric, seems to forget previous conversations, can sometimes bark information at his patients, is very casual in his style; all that said and done, I think he is a serious doctor and thoughtful in his approach.

More than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Dr McMahan is one of the best doctors I've ever visited. He took time to diagnose the problem and he suggested a plan to investigate many pissible comlications with corresponding ways to treat them.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

He is no Dr Clemmis. Why did he have to retire! He was engaging and funny and NEVER hurt! Dr McMahan hurt my ears when cleaning them to the point that I flinched and said OW. I miss Dr Clemmis and he could never be replaced! He was THE best. I was very lucky to have been able to go to him for as long as I did.

More than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Had a great visit with Dr. McMahan. Excellent bedside manner. We agreed on a treatment plan for my issue quickly, but I'm sure he's seen it all!

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

His approach is very aggressive and unsure if I needed half the meds / tests he prescribed.

More than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

He was a nice enough guy, but I think he was treating 2 other rooms with patients the same time I was getting an ear procedure done.. which didn't make me feel very welcomed or cared for.

Source: Zocdoc
show all reviews
ZocdocSurgeonDr. John McMahan, MD, FACS