View map

Helen Schwartz, LCSW

Psychotherapist

Brooklyn, NY

About Helen Schwartz

Helen Schwartz is a psychotherapist treating patients in Brooklyn, New York, and the surrounding communities. She holds status as a certified diplomat in clinical social work from the American Board of Examiners. Ms. Schwartz is also a member of professional organizations including the National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors, the National Association of Social Workers, and the New York State Society for Clinical Social Work as well as New York Mental Health Counselors Association. For her undergraduate degree, Ms. Schwartz attended Touro College. She continued her clinical education at Adelphi University where she completed her master’s degree in social work. Ms. Schwartz has since completed advanced post-graduate training at Hunter College and NYU in areas including custody evaluation, geriatric education, supervision, as well as administrative degrees. Patients visiting Ms. Schwartz can receive a full range of psychotherapy services. She provides parenting counseling, relationship counseling, cognitive therapy, group therapy, psychoanalysis, and anger management. Psychotherapy is available for issues including anxiety, depression, substance abuse as well as eating disorders, couples therapy, individual and family therapy. HIV pre and post counseling, postpartum depression, court mandated treatment, phobias/panic attack, autism, aspergers, ADHD/ ADD, and OCD are just a few of the presenting issues which Ms. Helen Schwartz has specialized in her 40 years of experience.

In-network insurances

  • 1199SEIU
  • Aetna
  • AmeriGroup

Specialties

  • Psychotherapist

Practice names

Education and training

  • Adelphi University, Master’s in Social Work

Professional memberships

  • American Board of Examiners in Clinical Social Work

Awards and publications

  • Board Certified Diplomat

Zocdoc awards

Rapid registration
See you again
Speedy response
Scheduling hero

Languages spoken

  • English
  • German
  • Hebrew

Provider's gender

Female

NPI number

1952344822

Overall rating
4.7
Recent reviews
This Counselor was extremely rude she rolled her eyes at me while i was sharing my pain and anguish with her.Her tone was more that of someone trying to pry information out of you aggressively than a confiding ear. I have been to other providers via zoc doc and this has definitely been the worst ever. would never recommend i left feeling much worst than I had even walked in. extremely unprofessional and uncomfortable.
This Counselor was extremely rude she rolled her eyes at me while i was sharing my pain and anguish with her. Her tone was more that of someone trying to pryinformation out of you aggressively than a confiding ear. I have been to other providers via zoc doc and this has definitely been the worst ever. would never recommend i left feeling much worst than I had even walked in. extremely unprofessional and uncomfortable.
Initials hidden · August 12, 2019
She’s such a sweet lady, she did everything to make me feel comfortable. I’m glad I decided to go with her.
She’s such a sweet lady, she did everything to make me feel comfortable. I’m glad I decided to go with her.
Nickia A. · August 5, 2019

Helen Schwartz's office locations

Helen Schwartz, LCSW BCD Clinical PC

584 Bay Ridge Ave, Lower Level / Basement

Brooklyn, NY 11220

Helen Schwartz, LCSW BCD Clinical PC

115 W 73rd St, Suite 1D # 2

New York, NY 10023

Patient reviews for Helen Schwartz, LCSW

All reviews have been submitted by patients after seeing the provider. For more information about Zocdoc's review system, check out this FAQ.
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Based on 1,615 reviews
Sort by:
Most relevant
1615 reviews
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Excellent

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

This Counselor was extremely rude she rolled her eyes at me while i was sharing my pain and anguish with her. Her tone was more that of someone trying to pry information out of you aggressively than a confiding ear. I have been to other providers via zoc doc and this has definitely been the worst ever. would never recommend i left feeling much worst than I had even walked in. extremely unprofessional and uncomfortable.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

She’s such a sweet lady, she did everything to make me feel comfortable. I’m glad I decided to go with her.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

She was very helpful and patient with me and listened very well and made me feel comfortable

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

She’s amazing !!! Can’t wait to keep going back lol

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

I stopped seeing this therapist because she spent the entire session talking about herself. She also had me wait 45 minutes because her earlier appointment showed up late. I would suggest trying to find someone else who is more respectful of their client's time.

Less than 3 months ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Like always, great , and for whoever thinks she's all about the money , your greatly mistaken, shame on you,,maybe you need more help than you think..

Less than 3 months ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Caring, helpful , attentive , very concerned about the well being and comfort level.

Less than 3 months ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

It was great. Before I went there I had in my mind how I wanted the session to go but after 5 minutes with her, i realize I should be open and the session went so much better than I anticipated. She is great . She truly cares about her patients. My boyfriend and I have been seeing her for couple counseling and she been very helpful so far.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

First time really speaking with a professional after years of thinking it wasn’t for me. Helen and I had a fantastic conversation and I’m happy to have found someone who listens exceptionally well, asks questions that trigger incredible thought, in a nurturing atmosphere.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

I’ve been coming to her for some time and it’s almost as if she hasn’t been listening to me at all; very aloof at times and presumptuous .

Less than 3 months ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Already after the the first visit I felt better. She is lovely and professional at the same time.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

She's very professional and nurturing.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Helen is very professional!

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

She's very nice as soon as she meets you. She makes you feel really comfortable.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

For the 1st time in my life I feel hope. I felt welcomed and supported in one session. The area was also a relaxing ambience in which I felt at home. Thank you for being you.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

I loved it she made me feel comfortable and welcomed

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Very professional.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Always good, mind relieving and helpful..

Less than 6 months ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Very informative and very easy to talk too. Looking forward to the next visit

Less than 6 months ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

I’m sure she’s great therapist when is not tired. But through out the session is falling asleep and kept asking me the same questions. But I would not return because she did not ask me the right questions, she was all over the place, telling me she’s going to retire in 4 years. Asking me what I thought about the reviews on Zocdoc. That’s not the type of therapist I’m looking for.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Very professional with a straight forward honest approach. She was very warm friendly & open. Made us feel at home & very comfortable at all times.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

I absolutely love Helen. She makes you feel super comfortable to talk about anything. She guides you to be open and honest with not only her but most importantly yourself. I adore her.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

She was very professional and nice. I definitely felt comfortable and will be back.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

I have had many sessions with Dr. Helen Schwartz. I can conclude that she is very helpful and empathetic when she has the energy to provide necessary care. She's wonderful in that regard. I personally wouldn't return after my last session when she just asked timepass questions during the second half of my session - I could tell she was tired. In my experience she hasn't asked me the right questions which makes the sessions directionless, digressive and difficult to open up with the concerns at hand. As much as I wished she had been the right therapist for me because of the proximity of her office and my accepted insurance, she's not. Great experienced therapist, just not for me.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

wonderful, warm and gives so much of herself. Hoping to come back soon.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Today was my first visit, and I felt relaxed just by talking to her. She has a calm voice, that made me feel comfortable and consequently I started to open up easily.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

She was very professional and an active listener it was pleasant to talk to someone who has experience and positive insights. I felt comfortable and I felt safe. I think I finally found someone who can help me understand the root of my problems.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Dr. Schwartz is kind hearted and professional.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Always good ,

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

dr schwartz appears to be very much in-demand and could likely use an assistant to take off some of her load so she can focus more during sessions

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Very good doctor can’t wait for my next visit

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

I ALWAYS WILL SAY, HELEN SCHWARTZ IS THE BEST DR. I HAVE EVER SEEN. SHE REALLY KNOWS HOW TO MAKE YOU FEEL REAL AND SPECIAL. SHE LISTENS TO ALL AND BY THE TIME YOU LEAVE YOU WISH YOU WERE RIGHT BACK.. LOVE HER. VALERIE J.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

She is very attentive. And very caring. Would definitely recommend

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

What threw me off was looking for the place, because it's residential. But, once entering, it was a really peaceful and intimate environment. It was comfortable being there and comfortable talking to Helen! It was a wise choice.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

It was my first session. I didn't expected to be excited to go back to therapy. She listens but interjects when needed.

Less than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Professional, caring and supportive. Would recommend hands down. Helen Schwartz was just what I was looking for and more..!

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Helen was great! She was super straightforward and professional. It was a couples therapy session. She got right to the point of the different issues at hand in order to address each one. She also helped my boyfriend feel more comfortable since he's never done therapy before. Hope to see her again soon!!

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Really wanted to get to the bottom of my problems. Extremely helpful. Was seen a bit late but was told why and that's all I can ask for. We all have interruptions in our lives that can't be helped. The same happened here. I'm just happy that she cares about my needs.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

it is distracting when she frequently answers the phone or the door

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

this location seems pretty popular, so one late session cascades to the following ones—I waited nearly 45 min after my scheduled appt time to be seen

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

She’s very nice and pleasant and she made me feel right at home so talking to her came so naturally

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Every time I go I feel relief afterwards. Highly recommend it

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Awesome first visit and I’m looking forward to more. She’s straightforward, honest, and clearly well-learned.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Ms. Helen Schwartz was very professional and very helpful. We had a couples therapy and we both felt good after just one visit.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

she may seem to go off tangent at times, but there is a valid reason for it. she is pretty spot on identifying key insights that you didn’t disclose explicitly or may not have even remembered. I learned a lot in just a brief session, so will definitely go back.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Comfortable and pleasant.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Helen is the real deal! She knows how to get to the root and quickly. She is both empathetic and no-nonsense. She treats you with kindness and respect and does not pass judgement or unnecessarily label you. Highly recommend.

Less than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

She is amazing! Lovely office. Very attentive to clients needs. Warm and non judgmental.

Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

She does not care that her patients are waiting for an incredibly long time. Her concern is only of herself.

Source: Zocdoc
show all reviews
ZocdocPsychotherapistHelen Schwartz, LCSW