View map

Dr. Avisheh Forouzesh, MD

Infectious Disease Specialist, Internist

Professional statement

Dr. Avisheh Forouzesh is a compassionate and diligent infectious disease specialist and Internist serving the community of Hoboken, NJ. She attended the State University of New York, where she received her medical degree, and completed her residency in internal medicine at North Shore-LIJ Health System. She further continued her studies and completed a fellowship in infectious disease at New York Medical College. She is the head of her practice" Advanced Infectious Disease Medical". She is board certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine specializing in infectious disease. She specializes in all aspects of Infectious Disease with particular interest in HIV, skin and soft tissue infections and antibiotic stewardship . She is actively involved in teaching of residents including podiatry and family practice residents at Hoboken university medical center and Internal Medicine residents at Palisades Medical center. She chairs the Pharmacy and Therapeutics committee at Hoboken University Medical Center. Dr.Forouzesh is devoted to ensuring the longevity of her patients' health with a comprehensive approach to patient care. Hospital Affiliations: Hoboken University Medical Center , Hoboken, NJ Palisades Medical Center, Edgewater, NJ

In-network insurances

  • AARP
  • Aetna
  • Anthem Blue Cross

Specialties

  • Internist
  • Infectious Disease Specialist

Practice names

Board certifications

  • American Board of Internal Medicine
  • Infectious Disease (Internal Medicine)

Education and training

  • Medical School - State University of New York, Upstate Medical University, Doctor of Medicine
  • New York Medical College, Fellowship in Infectious Disease
  • North Shore-LIJ Health System, Residency in Internal Medicine

Awards and publications

  • Makaryus, A. N., Forouzesh, A., Johnson, M. "Pregnancy in the patient with Eisenmenger's syndrome." Mt Sinai J Med
  • Forouzesh, A., Moise, P. A., Sakoulas, G. "Vancomycin ototoxicity: a reevaluation in an era of increasing doses." Antimicrob Agents Chemother

Zocdoc awards

See you again

Languages spoken

  • English
  • Spanish
  • Farsi

Provider's gender

Female

NPI number

1346273778

Office locations

Advanced Infectious Disease Medical, LLC

258 Newark Street, Suite 201

Hoboken, NJ 07030

Patient reviews
All reviews have been submitted by patients after seeing the provider. For more information, check out our Patient Knowledge Base.
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner

Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
She was caring, patient, and very attentive. I have severe anxiety and she did not belittle or condescend. I would highly recommend her. Also her office is very trendy yet intimate. See Dr. Forouzesh!!
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
She was welcoming and understanding.
Less than 1 month ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Professional thorough and quick.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Dr. Forouzesh was great. She has a warm welcoming personality. This was my first visit to her office. It was for a routine annual physical. She made me feel comfortable and completely at home upon entry to her new office space.She came with rave reviews from a friend and once I met her I knew that I wanted her as my GP. She is responsive and makes it a point to understand the needs of her patients.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
She is really good!! I will come back for sure if I need it.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Very kind and unbiased, highly recommended.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Very caring and knowledgeable doctor.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
It's a pleasure going to a doctor that listens to and addresses all your concerns.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Excellent doctor, highly recommended !
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
A+++ caring doctor.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Dr. Forouzesh is thorough and precise. Her bedside manner is caring and she has a great sense of humor! A great asset to her field.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Overall the physician was decent. The receptionist was on leave, thus I waited outside for a while, left, then was called back. 2nd the documents I sent through Zocdoc made it through, but not all of them. Lastly they only takecash or check, thus I had to walk to an ATM. The only other thing that was a bit odd, she asked me if I was a smoker to this I replied "once every 3 months or so, I smoke a cigarette". "What does that even mean" was her response.....Overall not great, but the flip side is she has last minute appointments available :)
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
She was professional and thorough
Less than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Dr. Avisheh was super straightforward and honest. Felt very comfortable talking to the doctor about my concerns and my condition. Very thorough, deliberate and detail oriented. Spent a lot of time with me to develop a solid short and long-termstrategy for my healthcare. She is extremely professional and very thorough. She makes me feel very comfortable and addresses all my concerns. I did not have insurance and she helped me to afford the visit and the required tests.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Dr. Avisheh was super straightforward and honest. Felt very comfortable talking to the doctor about my concerns and my condition. I have been to numerous doctors and couldn't find that connection which I finally feel that I did ! Thank you !!
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Dr Forouzesh is extremely professional and helpful.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Its always a pleasure, she is extremely professional, and very through. She makes me feel very comfortable, and addresses all my concerns
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Dr. Forouzesh is very nice. She is willing to listen patiently to your problems and provide some useful suggestions.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Everything was great except the co-pay had to be paid with cash or a check, besides that this place was great!
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
She’s ok .. not impressed...
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Very thorough, deliberate and detail oriented. Spent a lot of time with me to develop a solid short and long-tern strategy for my healthcare.
Less than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Awesome!
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Dr. Forouzesh was very helpful and professional. Please not that she does not accept credit cards - be sure to have check or cash on hand.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Today I had my 1st visit with her for my Annual Checkup. Everything went very well and I will be coming back next week to go through the results. She listens, gives you enough time for you to explain and givesyou her opinions in a very kind way. It is rare to find a doctor that is kind, makes jokes and is not rushing you out the door the second you arrive.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
It's a pleasure to have a doctor that listens to you and is willing to discuss the case plan
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
She is very through, always answers any questions in full detail
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Very thorough and considerate about my concerns and made me feel completely at ease with her expertise
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
It was excellent. I would highly recommend.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Great doctor!
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Great doctor, caring and professional but the "cash only" form of payment is not convenient for everyone.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Excellent visit. Just need a credit card machine so I can use my FSA instead of cash.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Great doctor! Knowledgeable and understanding!
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
I met with Dr. Avisheh Forouzesh early last year and she was very patient, meticulous, and thorough in the check up. Hence I scheduled an appointment this year. This time the office called to tell me that the original time slotI had booked, although confirmed, was taken so I would have to reschedule. They gave ample notice so I had no issues and gladly rescheduled on Zoc Doc. When it was the day of the rescheduled appointment, I received a call from the office 10 minutes before the appointment that the doctor had a family emergency and would not be able to see me. This was understandable as well so I went ahead and rescheduled for the following week. When it came to this second rescheduled appointment, I arrived on time. I waited about 10 minutes in the waiting room and then the assistant told me that the doctor was on the way and would arrive in about 10 minutes. I then proceeded to wait another 25 minutes (at this point I had waited 35 minutes) but she had not arrived yet. I had no idea how much longer I had to wait and I had to get to work so I stepped out without being seen. When I called back to let the office know I had to leave the doctor did apologize but at this point it was the 3rd appointment I had tried with her and could not trust the inconsistency anymore.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
She was very nice, very through and listened to me. She made me feel very comfortable and relax.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Dr. Forouzesh is amazing. She was really quick with meeting me and was very helpful and sent me to referred doctors quickly. She also has a great sense of humor and makes you feel very comfortable while in the office. Definitely recommend her!
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Very good doctor
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
I was VERY pleased at my Initial visit with Dr. F. She was GREAT ??. I thought she was extremely thorough and a well informed physician who left me feeling assured I made the right choice on ZOCDOC ??. Her officelocation is conveniently located next to labs and the hospital should you ever need anything done which is AMAZING. Dr. Forouzesh follows up and keeps you in the loop about your HEALTH which is just a PRIME EXAMPLE of why I am happy I found her on ZOCDOC. That alone is rare!!!
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Yes, sure! Thinking of making her our family GP
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Very thorough and caring. I love how if you have an issue - she will call you right back and take time on phone to thoroughly understand your situation.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Couldn't believe the office I stepped into, rusty medical cabinet, she couldn't download my ZocDoc file because she was using a 10lb laptop and the office was generally unclean. After I sit down with her she gives me advice on calmingdown because I was sick and edgy and then after the visit she starts to lecture me about her holistic approaches to medicine. I thought I was in the third world.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Pleasant doctor, but a bit dismissive. I explained my uncomfortable condition, but received nothing looks wrong response for cold-like symptoms. Maybe miscommunication on the doctor's part, but it made me feel awkward walking out.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Great doctor to work with!!!
More than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
My interaction with the doctor was ok. However, the waiting area was very run-down: paint falling off the walls, water spots on the carpet. It wasn't a welcoming and clean doctor's office experience. Also, payment has to be in cash or personal check. No credit cards accepted!
More than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Skillful, professional, compassionate. I found Dr. Forouzesh of enormous talent and I will be going back to her!
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
I thought Dr. Forouzesh was kind and very professional. She genuinely listens to and cares for her patients.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
I thought she was a great doctor. Her medical assistant was on leave so she was doing all the work. The office was clean. The only issue I had was that I was recommended to her for a simple physical howeverI didn't realize that she was a specialist therefore I had to pay my specialist copay instead of a regular visit copay. But overall great experience. Note - they do not draw blood at this office and will send you to an outside lab.
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
She's always wonderful! She's very friendly and addresses your concerns. I recommend her to anyone who needs to see a doctor!
More than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
EXCELLENT in every aspect of the word.....very professional, caring, and a good listener. She takes the time to talk to you and explains everything thoroughly. I would definitely recommend her in a heartbeat :)
More than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Very attentive and thorough
More than 1 year ago
Source: Zocdoc
Overall
Wait time
Bedside manner
Dr. Forouzesh was very friendly and knowledgable, and I would definitely go back to see her again if need be.
Source: Zocdoc
show all reviews
ZocdocFind an Infectious Disease SpecialistDr. Avisheh Forouzesh, MD